Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie looking to buy first Smart, couple questions

Hi all,

Another newbie here, originally from Holland but living in sunny Southend-on-sea since 2006.

Bit of a petrolhead, currently got a Jaguar S type R (4.2 supercharged V8) as a daily and a 3000GT (3.0 V6 twin turbo) as a weekend car.

But the wife doesn't really like driving either car has now said she would also like a little car for herself and has always said she really likes the smart fortwo convertible someone around the corner from us has.

I've been a passenger in the brabus version of a fortwo convertible once, and must admit with the bigger wheel arches and twin exhaust it's not a bad looking little car, so that's what we're after now.

Though looking online i've seen different models all claiming to be the brabus version, but with different engine sizes/power.

Is there a clear overview somewhere of the engine types used on the brabus models, and the difference between the city and the fortwo ?

Brief basic history:
    All smarts had a 599cc (all turbo) engine until 2003, when it went up to 698cc (all turbo), then in 2007 it went up to 999cc (option of turbo or NA), then in 2014 it went to an option of 999cc-N/A or 898cc-turbo..

Brabus models are no different, same base block used, just tuned to higher outputs with combi of a different engine map and turbo/exhaust and other minor hardware - injectors sometimes. (I've never heard yet of a NA Brabus)
    Last edited by 10:45PM; 29-07-15, 08:25 PM.

Comment

As a petrolhead - may I introduce you to the Smart Roadster....

As far as fortwo Brabus models go - first question is...

Are you considering a 1999-2007 model, a 2007-2015 model or the latest brand new 2015+ model?

The first ones, the proper Brabus wasn't released until 2003 - earlier ones had the option of Brabus upgrades but were basically just the standard engine with a remap and a few go-faster goodies.