Overheating

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overheating

I am new to Smart cars, today whilst I was stuck in traffic I noticed the temp gauge rise to within 2 bars of the top,I was concerned so pulled over and let the engine cool down. Is this normal? How does the engine in a smart car cool itself?

Re: Overheating

I wouldn't know about my engine temperature, my 451 CDi Passion doesn't have a temperature gauge. Do any 451's?

Comment

there are only 5 blobs.....so when you say 2 from the top do you mean the middle one?

i would say the middle one or the one above should be ok if stopped in traffic.

the car has a radiator in the front and, IIRC, a radiator fan so next time you have been out for a while, park up and listen to see if the fan kicks in (at the front)

JJ

www.forfour.co.uk (tech 454) - www.quidco.com/user/417377/1833011/ (free £)

Comment

Originally posted by Red7 View Post
        I am new to Smart cars, today whilst I was stuck in traffic I noticed the temp gauge rise to within 2 bars of the top,I was concerned so pulled over and let the engine cool down. Is this normal? How does the engine in a smart car cool itself?
        3 blobs is optimum temperature, you should be taking it easy until this point anyway. The 4th blob can appear in traffic, just put the heater on full whack to get rid of some of the heat.

Originally posted by 57dibbs View Post
        I wouldn't know about my engine temperature, my 451 CDi Passion doesn't have a temperature gauge. Do any 451's?
        Yes, some.

Comment

As this is in the 451 section I'll hazard a guess in that you have an 8 bar temp gauge, 4 bars is normal and the radiator fan will kick in when it gets to 6 bars (2 from the top) mone never goes above 6 even when sitting stationary running for ages, 6 is as high as it ever gets......

Comment