Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2x Momentary cut out - any ideas?

Hi everyone

I'm new to this Roadster thing and already rolling my eyes (fairly sure that is part of the ownership experience, right?)! The beast in question is a 03 Roadie with sports pack and c84k on the clock.

Just got it back from the garage after having some "TLC" (lots of new hoses, engine mounts, battery terminals etc - oh and a full service. Because I'm endlessly optimistic, I took it to a Smart garage for its first service under my ownership. Left kidney is mortgaged.). My other half took it out for a run - all fine.

I took it out today on precisely the same route and it cut out twice. It's worth saying that we were on country roads with medium/heavy traffic so some enthusiastic progress but not booting it by any stretch of the imagination...

1st time, slowed down and stopped to queue for some temporary traffic lights. Facing slightly downhill. It just stops after all the lights on the speedo come on. Not huffing or puffing. In a later vehicle, I would have said that it was an automatic traffic light cut out (but not this. I'd driven it for a bit before it went to have its tummy tickled in the garage and no sign of any such gizmos).
    It turned right back on without any drama and away we went. I assumed that there was something like a stall when we slowed down OR that it was because I turned the radio volume up to see if it worked (it doesn't. The thought that this may have caused a power drain did go through my mind) as it cut out at exactly the moment the radio volume was somewhere around max.

2nd time, driving downhill (in case anyone knows east sussex, down the hill heading west towards cuckmere haven!) - at first I thought that a particularly bright shaft of sunlight lit up all of the dash lights - nope.